Sylvia Plath ‘Poppies in July’ print

 

il_570xN.1164990114_smlh

This art print depicts the poet Sylvia Plath and features one of my favourite poems by her ‘Poppies in July’.

As with the majority of my prints, it comes in either 4 x 6 or 8 x 10.

See it on Etsy here – https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/519635841/sylvia-plath-poppies-in-july-poem-art

Poppies in July

Little poppies, little hell flames,
Do you do no harm?

You flicker. I cannot touch you.
I put my hand among the flames. Nothing burns.

And it exhausts me to watch you
Flickering like that, wrinkly and clear red, like
the skin of a mouth.

A mouth just bloodied.
Little bloodied skirts!

There are fumes I cannot touch.
Where are your opiates, your nauseous capsules?

If I could bleed, or sleep!
If my mouth could marry a hurt like that!

Or your liquors seep to me, in this glass capsule,
Dulling and stilling.

But colourless. Colourless.

 

Leave a Reply

